IMG_3668.jpg

Journey To The Heartland

Official Website of Author, Including the Book

BOOK

IMG_9450.PNG

Author: Xiaolong Huang

Illustrator: Andy Bridge - Life of Pi

Development editor: Vanessa Curtis - The Earth Is Singing

Editors: Danielle Anderson - Mokita, Donald Weise - Tilt-a-Whirl

Print length: 282 pages

Paperback ISBN: 979-8-218-00614-3

Ebook ISBN: 979-8-9863563-4-1

Publishing Date: Coming in July 2022

"Fans of Life of Pi, The Kite Runner, and A Long Way Home will fall in love with this inspiring novel based on a true story."

 

Growing up with a gay father in 1980s China, Hanwei was introduced to oppression early in his childhood. As the stress of homophobia turned his father manipulative and cold, Hanwei’s childhood trauma and oppression threatened to destroy his life forever. With courage and ambition, he will not yield to fight for a better life and world.

When Hanwei falls in love with a man and moves to the United States, he must cope with a slew of new problems that tug him into darkness. Life as a gay Chinese immigrant in California isn’t always sunny. Facing endless struggles and all hope seems lost… until he understands that his life has a greater purpose...

If you’re passionate about cultural diversity, inspiring characters, social activism, and creating a better future for humankind – this book is the perfect read for you!

Editorial Review:

Self-Publishing Review: ★★★★½

"A sprawling but delicate story of personal evolution, Journey to the Heartland by Xiaolong Huang expertly navigates the fine line between heartbreaking and inspiring. This story is woven together on multiple levels, with themes of sexuality, cultural pressure, academia, and personal exodus, for a poignant meditation on freedom. The tone of the writing is unique and striking, boasting unexpected flourishes of description that make the prose vivid, yet understated. Huang captures the intersection of personal autonomy, conscious liberation, and critical thinking in a timely and undeniably powerful read."

 

AUTHOR

IMG_7760.jpg

Xiaolong Huang is a Chinese-American immigrant with a PhD from UCLA. He works as an engineer in Silicon Valley's high tech industry. He wrote his debut book, Journey to the  Heartland, for cultural and intellectual influence, and celebrates social justice pioneers who fought and sacrificed for a better world.

"Don’t miss Journey to the Heartland – based on the true story of a man’s pursuit of happiness, justice and healing in the face of discriminations today."

 

CONTACT

Follow me:

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn